It’s County Fair Week!

I’ve entered knitted items in county fairs since I was about 15. This year, I decided to make a 14 X14 pillow to go with the afghan I entered last year. It didn’t win first prize, but at least it placed. I call it the Flower Basket pillow.

Flowers on one side

Basketweave on the other

I’d post a pattern, but most of this information is copywritited, so I’ll just tell you how I came across it. First, locate a Vogue Knitting Book 1989 edition (many libraries still carry this older version). On page 122, you’ll find the instructions for basketweave. The “Flower eyelet” stitch is on page 144. Use size 8 needles. Cast on 53 stitches for the basketweave and 56 for the flowers. Work until the piece measures almost 14 inches.

This entry was posted in Helpful Hints, Knitting Anecdotes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

